Citroën Type C

The Citroën Type C or 5HP was presented at the Paris Motor Show in October 1921, just a few months after the Type B2 was marketed. It is the third model of Citroën automobiles. Nicknamed Petite Citron because of its first color "grapefruit", it will be better known under the name "Trèfle" for its particular location of places. The Type C was approved on November 29, 1922, but production did not start until June 1922.

Democratize the automobile

Despite the government's impetus for manufacturers to invest in cycle cars, Citroën opted for small cars which had until then been a monopoly of Peugeot and Renault. André Citroën had the ambition to democratize access to the car and saw in Citroën a brand dedicated to mass motorization. And, in this desire to democratize access to the car, André Citroën innovates by allowing his customers to buy his cars on credit thanks to a consumer credit company created directly by André Citroën.

And Citroën does not stop along the way since it also innovates in the target audience of its advertisements. Indeed, all the advertisements around the 5HP represented the car being driven by a young woman which was, to say the least, totally unusual at the time.

Launched only as a 2-seater Torpedo body in 1922, the Type C range will expand with the addition of a more luxurious 2-seater Cabriolet version and a 3-seater Torpedo version with a rear seat on a folding seat which will be replaced. by a Torpédo 3 fixed places (2 at the front, 1 at the rear) hence the nickname of Trèfle.

A car ahead of its time

True to his habit, André Citroën takes a step ahead of its competitors with the 5HP since it has new equipment on this level of the range: It is equipped with starter and electric headlights in order to satisfy female customers who is very sensitive to its ease of driving.

Very light since barely 543 kilos, the Citroën 5HP reaches 60 km / h at top speed for a very reasonable consumption of barely 5 liters per 100 km.

Assembled in the Levallois plant then in the Quai de Javel plant, the Citroën 5HP is available in left-hand or right-hand drive (both in France and for export).

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

From 1924, a change is made to the chassis which will see the wheelbase lengthen by 10 cm to reach 2.35m. It was also at this time that Citroën was going to equip the Type C with Michelin low pressure Comfort tires. Finally, in 1925, the cooling system, until now provided by thermosyphon, was improved by adding a fan.

Equipped with a single door on the driver's side, the doors have invisible hinges and have a special device to absorb vibrations. The spare wheel is mounted on the rear, driver's side. Finally, the rear receives a small safe closed by a cover accessible from the top.

A huge success for Citroën ...

Launched in 1922, the Citroën 5HP became, in 1924, the first sale of Automobiles Citroën representing up to 50% of the brand's total sales. It must be said that the launch price of the 5HP was particularly attractive since set at 8,500 Francs, or 60% of that of the B2.

The Citroën 5HP is a model of frugality and reliability that marks a leap from the competition. It is also extremely robust as evidenced by the 17,000 km raid carried out in Australia by two students with a 5HP purchased second-hand.

Thanks to low fuel and oil consumption, to its almost zero maintenance cost, the Citroën Type C was surprisingly successful, particularly with women, the target audience, who adored the Type C for its size and ease of handling. conduct.

... But insufficiently profitable

Despite this significant success, the Type C proved to be too unprofitable and Citroën needed cash to finance its future automobile projects. Thus, André Citroën, against all expectations and alone are all, decides to stop the production of the Type and operates a strategic turn for Citroën by deciding to return to a unique model, more upscale and therefore able to generate more margin. . In addition, this vehicle requires significant resources thanks to its innovation, an all-steel body: it will be the B14.

Thus after 80,232 copies, the Citroën 5HP saw its career come to an abrupt halt. It was the first Citroën very popular to the point that in 1960, still 5000 copies circulated on the roads of France.

Technical characteristics :

  1. Dimensions:

    Length: 3.15 m

    Width: 1,33m

    Weight: 543 kilos

  2. Motor:

    4 gasoline cylinders

    Power: 11 ch

    Displacement: 856 cm³

Passionately Citroën - 2021 - Contact us

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

Translation disclaimer

Logo stellantis news.jpg
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon

Citroën Type C | Passionnément Citroën

Citroën Type C

La Citroën Type C ou 5HP a été présentée au salon de Paris en Octobre 1921, quelques mois à peine après la commercialisation de la Type B2. C'est le troisième modèle des automobiles Citroën. Surnommée Petite Citron en raison de sa première couleur « pamplemousse », elle sera plus connue sous le nom de « Trèfle » pour son implantation particulière des places. La Type C fut homologuée le 29 novembre 1922 mais sa production ne démarre qu'en Juin 1922.

 

Démocratiser l'automobile

 

En dépit de l'impulsion du gouvernement pour que les constructeurs investissent dans les cycle cars, Citroën fait le choix des petites voitures jusqu'alors monopole de Peugeot et Renault. André Citroën avait l'ambition de démocratiser l'accès à la voiture et voyait en Citroën une marque dédiée à la motorisation de masse. Et, dans cette volonté de démocratiser l'accès à la voiture, André Citroën innove en permettant à ses clients d'acheter ses voitures à crédit grâce à une société de crédit à la consommation créée directement par André Citroën.

Et Citroën ne s'arrête pas en chemin puisqu'il innove également dans le public visé par ses publicités. En effet, toutes les publicités autour de la 5HP représentaient la voiture conduite par une jeune femme ce qui était, pour le moins, totalement inhabituelle à l'époque.

 

Lancée uniquement en carrosserie Torpédo 2 places en 1922, la gamme de la Type C va se développer avec l'ajout d'une version Cabriolet 2 places voulue plus luxueuse et d'une version Torpédo 3 places avec une place arrière sur strapontin qui sera remplacés par une Torpédo 3 places fixes (2 à l'avant, 1 à l'arrière) d'où le surnom de Trèfle.

 

Une voiture en avance sur son temps

Fidèle à son habitude, André Citroën prend une longueur d'avance sur ses concurrents avec la 5HP puisqu'elle possède des équipements inédits sur ce niveau de gamme là : Elle est équipée de démarreur et de phares électriques ceci afin de satisfaire la clientèle féminine qui se révèle très sensible à sa facilité de conduite.

 

Très légère puisque d'à peine 543 kilos, la Citroën 5HP atteint les 60 Km/h en vitesse de pointe pour une consommation très raisonnable d'à peine 5 litres aux 100 km.

Assemblés dans l'usine de Levallois puis dans l'usine du Quai de Javel, la Citroën 5HP est disponible en conduite à gauche ou à droite (aussi bien en France que pour l'exportation).

A partir de 1924, un changement est fait au châssis qui va voir l'empattement s'allonger de 10 cm pour atteindre les 2,35m. C'est à cette époque également que Citroën va équiper la Type C de pneus Michelin à basse pression Confort . Enfin, en 1925, le système de refroidissement, jusqu'ici assuré par thermosiphon, est amélioré grâce à l'ajout d'un ventilateur.

 

Doté d'une seule porte côté conducteur, les portes ont des charnières invisibles et disposent d'un dispositif spécial permettant d'absorber les vibrations. La roue de secours est montée à l'arrière, côté conducteur. Enfin, ul'arrière reçoit un petit coffre fermé par un couvercle accessible par le haut.

 

Un énorme succès pour Citroën...

 

Lancée en 1922, la Citroën 5HP devient, dès 1924, la première vente des Automobiles Citroën représentant jusqu'à 50% des ventes totales de la Marque. Il faut dire que le prix de lancement de la 5HP était particulièrement attractif puisque fixé à 8 500 Francs soit 60% de celui de la B2.

 

La Citroën 5HP est un modèle de frugalité et de fiabilité qui marque un saut par rapport à la concurrence. Elle est aussi extrêmement robuste comme en témoigne le raid de 17 000 km effectué en Australier par deux étudiants avec une 5HP achetée d'occasion.

 

Grâce à des consommations d'essence et d'huile faibles, à son coût d'entretien quasi nul, la Citroën Type C conut un surprenant succès notamment auprès des femmes, public cible, qui adoraient la Type C pour sa taille et sa facilité de conduite.

 

...Mais insuffisamment rentable

 

Malgré ce succès important, la Type C se révèle trop peu rentable et Citroën a besoin de trésorerie pour financer ses futurs projets d'automobiles. Ainsi, André Citroën, contre toute attente et seul sontre tous, décide de stopper la fabrication de la Type et opère un virage stratégique pour Citroën en décidant de revenir à un modèle unique, plus haut de gamme et donc à même de générer davantage de marge. De plus, ce véhicule nécessite d'importants moyens grâce à son innovation, une carrosserie toute acier : ce sera la B14.

 

C'est ainsi qu'après 80 232 exemplaires, la Citroën 5HP voit sa carrière stopper net. Ce fut la première Citroën très populaire au point qu'en 1960, encore 5000 exemplaires circulaient sur les routes de France.

 

Caractéristiques techniques :

  1. Dimensions :

    Longueur : 3,15 m

    Largeur : 1,33m

    Poids : 543 kilos

  2. Moteur :

    4 Cylindres essence

    Puissance : 11 ch

    Cylindrée : 856 cm³

Passionnément Citroën - 2019 Contact : passionnementcitroen1@gmail.com 

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon