Citroën Type B10

The Citroën Type B10 was presented at the Paris Motor Show in 1924. It is an evolution of the B2 released in 1921 and that Citroën had to modify because the competition had reacted. And it is a real upheaval that Citroën is setting up since it takes advantage of this development to innovate once again.

Indeed, on the occasion of the Type B10, Citroën abandons construction on wooden frames to adopt the so-called "all steel" technique. This technique in which the profiles of the reinforcement formed by stamping receive by electrical welds the outer panels of the sheet. This allows for a lighter, more rigid body and, above all, more easily allowing automated or semi-automated assembly.

To launch this B10, Citroën must equip itself with major stamping and extremely expensive welding equipment in a period, moreover, very inflationary. As a result, Citroën, whose daily production is 300 cars, does not produce enough to ensure the amortization of these investments.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

An evolution that calls for others

The Citroën B10 therefore inaugurates the all-steel technique and suffers from structural problems resulting in a hasty adaptation of an all-steel body on a too inflexible chassis. And, paradoxically, it is not the chassis that poses the problem but the body which restricts it, resulting in ruptures at the fixing points requiring urgent reinforcement of the side members first by doubling them and then increasing their thicknesses and their heights. And after a long work, all the problems are in order and the B10 is a great success despite a sale price of 25,000 Francs or 2000 Francs, barely, higher than the price of the B2.

1/12

The B10 becomes B12 ...

In 1925, Citroën modified the B10 by transforming it into a B12 erasing, by the way, the main faults of the B10, namely the lack of front brakes. But the problems with the chassis mismatched to the body of the B10 had caused problems for customers and tarnished the image of the brand. To alleviate the concerns, the B12 replaces the B10 with a new chassis, this time designed from the outset for an all-steel body to fix the issues. This new chassis takes the mechanics of the initial B2, namely a 4-cylinder 20hp which has a lot to do with the heavier weight of the B12. This ends the single braking at the rear to adopt four-wheel braking. The B12 was produced in different limousine, carbiolet, landaulet or in Norman commercial version. The career of the B12 was short, like that of the B10, since a new evolution will appear, from October 1926, which will see the day of the B14.

… Which becomes the B14 The Citroën B14, which should have been called B13, replaces the B2 and B12 and brings several important advances. It still has an all-steel body, but it is now based on a more robust and lighter chassis which is suspended by semi-ellipical springs. The engine is also evolving to offer more flexibility thanks to an evolution of its displacement which is brought to 1359cm³. Citroën takes the opportunity to bring a technical innovation with the presence of a Citroën servo brake which acts on all four wheels.

The B14 will undergo two evolutions: - In March 1927, it brings a new more rigid chassis, a more reliable engine and becomes the B14.F. It will be the first Citroën to adopt nitrocellulose paint and will be produced up to 400 copies per day.

- In October 1927, the B14 evolves again to be called B14.G and whose main difference is a new body with a rounded roof and a new hood with air vents over its entire length. The total production will exceed 500 copies per day thanks to competitive prices.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

Characteristics :

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

B10: Length: 3m68 or 4m

Width: 1m45

Weight: 810 kg

Max speed: 70 km / h

Power: 20 ch

Production: 17,259 copies

B12:

Length: 4m

Width: 1m45

Weight: 1100 kg

Max speed: 70 km / h

Power: 20/22 ch

Production: 38,381 copies

B14:

Length: 4m18

Width: 1m41

height: 1m80

Weight: 1100 kg

Power: 22hp

Max speed: 80 km / h

Production: 127,600 copies

Passionately Citroën - 2021 - Contact us

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

Translation disclaimer

Logo stellantis news.jpg
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon

Citroën B10 | Passionnément Citroën

Citroën Type B10

La Citroën Type B10 a été présentée au salon de Paris de 1924. Il s'agît d'une évolution de la B2 sortie, elle, en 1921 et que Citroën a du modifié car la concurrence avait réagi. Et c'est un vrai bouleversement que Citroën met en place puisqu'il profite de cette évolution pour innover une fois de plus.

En effet, à l'occasion de la Type B10, Citroën abandonne la construction sur des armatures en bois pour adopter la technique dite du « tout acier ». Cette technique dans laquelle les profilés de l'armature formés par emboutissage reçoivent par des soudures électriques les panneaux extérieurs de la tôle. Cela permet une caisse plus légère, plus rigide et, surtout, permettant plus facilement un assemblage automatisé ou semi-automatisé.

Pour lancer cette B10, Citroën doit s'équiper d'importants matériels d'emboutissage et de soudage extrêmement coûteux dans une période, de plus, très inflationniste. De ce fait, Citroën, dont la production journalière est de 300 voitures, ne produit pas assez pour assurer l'amortissement de ces investissements.

Une évolution qui en appellent d'autres

La Citroën B10 inaugure donc la technique du tout acier et souffre de problèmes de structure d'où à une adaptation hâtive d'une carrosserie tout acier sur un châssis trop peu rigide. Et, paradoxalement, ce n'est pas le châssis qui pose problème mais la caisse qui le bride cela entraînant des ruptures aux points de fixation imposant de renforcer en urgences les longerons d'abord en les doublant pour ensuite augmenter leurs épaisseurs et leurs hauteurs. Et après un long travail, tous les problèmes rentrent dans l'ordre et la B10 connaît un grand succès malgré un prix de vente de 25 000 Francs soit 2000 Francs,à peine, supérieur au prix de la B2.

1/12

La B10 devient B12...

En 1925, Citroën modifie la B10 en la transformant en B12 gommant, au passage, les principaux défauts de la B10 à savoir l'absence de freins avant. Mais les problèmes du châssis mal adapté à la caisse de la B10 avait causé des problèmes aux clients et terni l'image de la marque. Pour remédier aux soucis, la B12 remplace la B10 avec un nouveau châssis, cette fois conçu dès le départ pour une carrosserie tout acier permettant de régler les problèmes. Ce nouveau châssis reprend la mécanique de la B2 initial à savoir un 4 cylindres de 20ch qui à fort à faire avec le poids plus lourd de la B12. Celle-ci met fin à l'unique freinage à l'arrière pour adopter un freinage aux quatre roues. La B12 fut produite sous différentes carrosseries limousine, carbiolet, landaulet ou en version commerciale Normande. La carrière de la B12 fut brève, comme celle de la B10, puisqu'une nouvelle évolution va apparaître, dès le mois d'Octobre 1926, qui va voir le jour de la B14.

… qui devient la B14 La Citroën B14, qui aurait dû s'appeler B13, remplace les B2 et B12 et apporte plusieurs progrès importants. Elle possède toujours une carrosserie tout acier mais celle-ci repose désormais sur un châssis plus robuste et allégé qui est suspendu par des ressorts semi-ellipiques. Le moteur évolue également pour offrir davantage de souplesse grâ à une évolution de sa cylindrée qui est portée à 1359cm³. Citroën en profites pour apporter une innovation technique avec la présence d'un Servofrein Citroën qui agît sur les quatre roues.

La B14 connaîtra deux évolutions : - En Mars 1927, elle apporte un nouveau châssis plus rigide, un moteur plus fiable et devient la B14.F. Elle sera la première Citroën à adopter la peinture à la nitrocellulose et sera produite jusqu'à 400 exemplaires par jour.

- En Octobre 1927, la B14 évolue encore pour être appelée B14.G et dont la principale différence est une nouvelle carrosserie à toit arrondi et un nouveau capot possédant des ouïes d'aération sur toute sa longueur. La production totale dépassera les 500 exemplaires par jour grâce à des tarifs compétitifs.

Caractéristiques :

B10 : Longueur : 3m68 ou 4m

Largeur : 1m45

Poids : 810 kg

Vitesse maxi : 70 km/h

Puissance : 20 ch

Production : 17 259 exemplaires

 

B12 :

Longueur : 4m

Largeur : 1m45

Poids : 1100 kg

Vitesse maxi : 70 km/h

Puissance : 20/22 ch

Production : 38 381 exemplaires

 

B14 :

Longueur : 4m18

Largeur : 1m41

hauteur : 1m80

Poids : 1100 kg

Puissance : 22ch

Vitesse maxi : 80 km/h

Production : 127 600 exemplaires

Passionnément Citroën - 2020 Contact : passionnementcitroen1@gmail.com 

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon