Citroen AMI 6

At the end of the 1950s, Citroën began research on a new vehicle whose objective was to fill the gap, gigantic, between the DS and the 2CV. For cost reasons, the AM project, for mid-range cars, ignores the technologies of the DS to use the 2CV platform.

 

The specifications require that the future Citroën be comfortable and must not exceed a length of 4 meters. Taking the base of the 2Cv, it is therefore impossible for the engineers to stretch the wheelbase which is faced with another request, emanating from the boss of Citroën Pierre Bercot.  The latter refuses that the future AMI6 is a so-called utility vehicle, in reality a hatchback. It is therefore necessary to find treasures of ingenuity to succeed in designing a tri-body vehicle in a very small size while taking up an existing base.

press to zoom

press to zoom

press to zoom

press to zoom
1/18

It was then that Flaminio Bertoni, brilliant creator of the 2cv, Traction and DS, suggested inverting the rear window to offer rear passengers a lowering roof allowing them to no longer lower their heads to sit in the car. This choice imposes an atypical Z-shaped bodywork which, while it offers the advantage of excellent accessibility and prevents snow from accumulating, is rather difficult to carry. But this so strange rear window was not the only stylistic innovation of this AM project since it offers a very particular front composed of a plunging bonnet and square chrome optics which earned it the inglorious term of toad.

 

Based on the 2CV platform, the AM project cannot take over the engine because the weight of its bodywork is too great. Also, Citroën engineers decided to modify the engine by increasing its displacement to 602 cm³, in order to remain in the tax class of 3CV vehicles. With a power of 22hp, the engine allows a top speed of 110 km/h which, at the time, was a good performance. From the 2Cv, the future AMI6 also takes up the four drum brakes with a diameter of 220mm for the front brakes, which is slightly larger than those of the deuche. Finally, the suspension takes up the principle inaugurated by the 2 CV with horizontal side springs compressed thanks to a system of connection to the wheels by tie rods. Damping is ensured by four shoes. All four wheels work independently. An inertia beater (or mass stabilizers) is present on each wheel and an elastic interaction system between the front and rear suspension completes the system.

 

The AMI 6 was presented on April 26, 1961 in the city of Amsterdam in the Netherlands. The origin of its name is multiple: Some indicate that Citroën joined the number 6 in reference to the motorization becoming forming AM SIX then AMICI or AMI in Italian. Others point to a more mundane name meaning Mid-Range Automobile. The AMI6 takes up the best of the 2cv, namely its rusticity and robustness, which it combines with the best of the DS thanks to its more careful finish and single-spoke steering wheel, soft seats or even door and control handles. First manufactured in the Panhard factory in Ivry sur Seine, the Citroën AMI6 will inaugurate the very last factory of the brand located in Rennes la Janais which today manufactures the C5 Aircross. If the car seduces with its comfort and roominess, it struggles to convince customers with its particular style, especially compared to its much more practical competitors. If the first months were encouraging, demand fell from 1963 and forced Citroën to react.

In June 1963, the shoes were replaced by four telescopic hydraulic shock absorbers which no longer required periodic adjustments. This quadruple effect system (springs, shock absorbers, beaters and front/rear elastic interaction) will achieve a particularly high performance level of suspension which will be completed on the Ami 8 by the addition of a front anti-roll bar limiting the effect of roll in curves.

 

The AMI6 makes the break

Despite his dislike for station wagons, perceived as commercial vehicles, Pierre Bercot had to resolve to offer a station wagon on the AMI6 which proved to be less practical than its competitors due to its inverted rear window which prohibited any notion of versatility of use. Thus, the AMI 6 break will make its appearance at the 1964 Paris Motor Show, taking up a design by Heuliez who had designed and designed a break based on the AMI6 in August 1962. The break, much more classic in terms of style, is also much more practical thanks to its tailgate and increased boot volume. And Citroën will be delighted with the sales figures for the AMI6 station wagon, which has literally saved the car's career. Helped by less strong competition, the station wagon already represented 2/3 of AMI6 sales from 1965, even allowing it to become the best-selling car in France in 1966.

 

A short but ever-developing career

It was also in 1966 that Citroën switched the electrical equipment of the AMI6 to 12 volts instead of 6 previously, allowing the installation of an alternator instead of the dynamo.

In 1967, Citroën changed the front end, which incorporated twin round headlights and a grille with horizontal bars. The wheels are adorned with Gala hubcaps identical to those of the 2cv AZAM Export. Inside, the upholstery is specific while the trunk is lined with carpets. These modifications are reserved for station wagons and will equip the sedan a year later.

 

At the beginning of 1968, the rear lights were redesigned, became multifunction and grouped together on a trapezoidal block which would later be on the 2cv 4 and 2cv 6. the final technical evolution of the AMI6 before its replacement by the AMI8.

 

The Citroën AMI6 saloon left the scene in 1969 on the occasion of the marketing of the AMI 8 while the station wagon continued its career pending the arrival of the AMI8 station wagon. Over the eight-year career of the model, production will amount to 1,039,384 copies including 555,398 station wagons and 483,986 sedans, something rare enough to be underlined, the station wagon therefore sold more than the sedan over a longer period. short of only four years, it is to say if Citroën had the hollow nose while leaving this derivative.

Citroën AMI 6

A la fin des années 1950, Citroën engage les recherches sur un nouveau véhicule dont l’objectif sera de combler l’écart, gigantesque, entre la DS et la 2Cv. Pour des raisons de coût, le projet AM, pour automobile milieu de gamme, fait l’impasse sur les technologies de la DS pour reprendre la plateforme de la 2CV.

 

La cahier des charges impose que la future Citroën soit confortable et ne doit pas dépasser une longueur de 4 mètres. Reprenant la base de la 2Cv, il est donc impossible aux ingénieurs d’étirer l’empattement qui se voit confronter à une autre demande, émanant du patron de Citroën Pierre Bercot.  Ce dernier refuse que la future AMI6 soit un véhicule dit utilitaire, en réalité à hayon. Il faut donc trouver des trésors d’ingéniosité pour aboutir à concevoir un véhicule tri-corps dans un tout petit gabarit tout en reprenant une base existante.

press to zoom

press to zoom

press to zoom

press to zoom
1/18

C’est alors que Flaminio Bertoni, génial créateur des 2cv, Traction et DS, propose d’inverser la lunette arrière pour offrir aux passagers arrières une descente de toit qui leur permettent de ne plus baisser la tête pour s’asseoir dans la voiture. Ce choix impose une carrosserie atypique en forme de Z qui, si elle offre l’avantage d’une excellente accessibilité et évite à la neige de s’accumuler, est plutôt difficile à porter. Mais cette lunette arrière si étrange n’était pas la seule innovation stylistique de ce projet AM puisque celui-ci propose un avant très particulier composé d’un capot plongeant et d’optiques carrées chromées qui lui a valu le terme, peu glorieux, de crapaud.

 

Basé sur la plateforme de la 2CV, le projet AM ne peut en reprendre le moteur car le poids de sa carrosserie est trop important. Aussi, les ingénieurs de Citroën décident de modifier le moteur en augmentant sa cylindrée à 602 cm³, ceci afin de rester dans la classe fiscale des véhicules 3CV. Avec une puissance de 22cv, le moteur permet une vitesse de pointe de 110 km/h ce qui, à l’époque, était une bonne performance. De la 2Cv, la future AMI6 reprend également les quatre freins à tambour avec un diamètre de 220mm pour les freins avant soit légèrement plus grands que ceux de la deuche. Enfin, la suspension reprend le principe inauguré par la 2 Cv avec des ressorts horizontaux latéraux comprimés grâce à un système de liaison aux roues par tirants. L'amortissement est assurée par quatre frotteurs. Les quatre roues travaillent indépendamment. Un batteur à inertie (ou stabilisateurs à masse) est présent sur chaque roue et un système d'interaction élastique entre la suspension avant et arrière complète le système.

 

L’AMI 6 est présentée le 26 avril 1961 dans la ville d’Amsterdam aux Pays Bas. L’orogine de son nom est multiple : Certains indiquent que Citroën a accolé le chiffre 6 en référence à la motorisation devenant formant AM SIX puis AMICI soit AMI en Italien. D’autres font état d’un nom plus banal qui signifie Automobile de MIlieu de gamme. L’AMI6 reprend le meilleur de la 2cv à savoir sa rusticité et sa robustesse qu’elle associe au meilleur de la DS grâce à sa finition plus soignée et au volant monobranche, sièges moelleux ou encore poignées de portes et de commandes. D’abord fabriquée dans l’usine Panhard d’Ivry sur Seine, la Citroën AMI6 va inaugurer la toute dernière usine de la marque située à Rennes la Janais laquelle fabrique, aujourd’hui, le C5 Aircross. Si la voiture séduit par son confort et son habitabilité, elle peine à convaincre les clients avec son style particulier, surtout comparé à ses concurrentes bien plus pratiques. Si les premiers mois sont encourageants, la demande baisse dès 1963 et oblige Citroën à réagir.

En juin 1963, les frotteurs sont remplacés par quatre amortisseurs hydrauliques télescopiques qui ne nécessitent plus de réglages périodiques. Ce système à quadruple effet (ressorts, amortisseurs, batteurs et interaction élastique Av/Ar) atteindra un niveau de suspension particulièrement performant qui sera complété sur l'Ami 8 par l'ajout d'une barre anti-dévers avant limitant l'effet de roulis dans les courbes.

 

L’AMI6 fait le break

Malgré son désamour pour les breaks, perçus comme des véhicules utilitaires, Pierre Bercot doit se résoudre à proposer un break sur l’AMI6 qui se révèle moins pratique que ses concurrentes de par sa lunette arrière inversée qui interdit toute notion de polyvalence d’usage. Ainsi, le break AMI 6 fera son apparition dès le salon de Paris de 1964 en reprenant un dessin d’Heuliez qui avait dessiné et conçu un break sur la base de l’AMI6 dès le mois d’août 1962. Le break, nettement plus classique sur le plan du style, se montre également bien plus pratique grâce à son hayon et à son volume de coffre en hausse. Et Citroën va être ravi des chiffres de ventes du break AMI6 qui sauve carrément la carrière de la voiture. Bien aidé par une concurrence moins forte, le break représente déjà 2/3 des ventes d’AMI6 dès 1965 lui permettant même de devenir la voiture la plus vendue en France en 1966.

 

Une carrière courte mais en continuel développement

C’est aussi en 1966 que Citroën passe l’équipement électrique de l’AMI6 en 12 volts au lieu de 6 précédemment, permettant l’installation d’un alternateur en lieu et place de la dynamo.

En 1967, Citroën fait évoluer La face avant qui intègre des doubles optiques ronds et une calandre à barrettes horizontales. Les roues se parent d’enjoliveurs Gala identiques à ceux de la 2cv AZAM Export. A l’intérieur, la sellerie est spécifique tandis que le coffre est garni des moquettes. Ces modifications sont réservés aux breaks et équiperont la berline un an plus tard.

 

Début 1968, les feux arrière sont redessinés, deviennent multifonction et regroupés sur un bloc de forme trapézoïdale qui sera, par la suite, sur les 2cv 4 et 2cv 6. En mai 1968, le moteur évolue et passe de 22ch à 28 ce qui marquera l’ultime évolution technique de l’AMI6 avant son remplacement par l’AMI8.

 

La Citroën AMI6 berline quitte la scène en 1969 à l’occasion de la commercialisation de l’AMI 8 tandis que le break continue sa carrière en attendant l’arrivée du break AMI8. Sur les huit ans de carrière du modèle, la production s’élèvera à 1 039 384 exemplaires dont 555 398 breaks et 483 986 berlines, chose assez rare pour être soulignée, le break s’est donc davantage vendu que la berline sur une période plus courte de seulement quatre ans, c’est dire si Citroën a eu le nez creux en sortant ce dérivé.